ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award

Note that this award is given in odd-numbered years; nominations for the 2017 award cycle are now completed. The next cycle will commence in 2019. Read more about Dr. Ilkay Altintas, the 2017 SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award Winner.

Submissions open: April of odd-numbered years
Submission close: June of odd-numbered years
Winner selected: July of odd-numbered years

In the fields of high performance (HPC) and technical computing – as elsewhere in computing – there are fellowships and awards for  achievements occurring at the graduate student, early-career, and mature-career stages.  There are very few awards recognizing individuals in the middle stage of their careers, and none aimed specifically at women.  These are the years when faculty are working toward promotion and practitioners are moving through middle levels of management, a period which can be especially challenging for women.  "Technical computing" includes all of the various fields that are part of what we think of as HPC  areas such as visualization, analytics, operations, scientific application software (creation and porting/tuning), libraries, and so on  as well as professionals working with everything from small, workgroup-sized systems, to leading systems on the TOP500 list.

The ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing (EWL/TC) is a biennial award open to any woman who has engaged in HPC and technical computing research, education, and/or practice for 5-15 years since receiving her highest degree. This international award creates a new career milestone achievement, and consists of a $2,000 honorarium, travel support to the SC conference, and a recognition plaque. It also establishes a cohort of role models for students and professional who are just getting started in our field. 

The award is presented every two years during the annual SC conference. The first presentation will be this November during SC17.

See our how to nominate section for a description of what is required to nominate a candidate.

Award Committee

Francine Berman,  Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Candace Culhane (Chair), Los Alamos National Laboratory
Lori Diachin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Ron Perrott, University of Oxford