Travel Grant Recipients

We are always excited to meet each new group of travel grant recipients during SC. Their energy, enthusiasm, and talent are inspiring. If you are a student we hope you consider applying.

2017 Recipients

  • Xavier Yepes Arbos (Master’s student) - Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Muhammed Ibrahim Awan (Undergraduate student) - Rutgers University, USA
  • Anna Kormu (Undergraduate student) - University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Tiffany Li (Undergraduate student) - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Yasodhadevi Suriyakumar (PhD student) - Portland State University, USA
  • Amalee Wilson (PhD student) - The University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • Mengyuan Zhu (Master’s student) - Georgia State University, USA

2016 Recipients

(left to right)

  • Giulio Stromondo (PhD candidate) - University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Yuilana Zamora (Master's student) - Georgia Tech, USA (ACM-W awardee)
  • Sameera Horawalavithana (PhD candidate) - University of South Florida, USA
  • Tiffany Connors (Undergraduate student) - University of Bergen, Norway
  • Matthew Bae (Undergraduate student) - Harvey Mudd College, USA
  • Sangeetha Banavathi Srinivasa (Master's student) - Virginia Tech, USA
  • Chirag Jain (PhD candidate) - Georgia Tech, USA

2015 Recipients

(left to right)

  • ACM CEO Bobby Schnabel
  • Glenna Dunn (PhD candidate) - Vanderbilt University, USA
  • žShaomeng (Samuel) Li (PhD candidate) - University of Oregon, USA
  • žJacob Pollack (Undergraduate student) - The University of Tennessee, Knoxville*, USA
  • žJonah Miller (PhD candidate) - University of Guelph*, Canada
  • žWilliam Yang (Undergraduate student) - University of Arkansas at Little Rock, USA
  • žDino Raffael Magri (Master’s student) - University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Gavin Baker(Master’s student) - California Polytechnic State University, USA
  • žEfthalia Karydi (PhD candidate) - University of Macedonia, Greece
  • žEvan Schneider (PhD candidate) - University of Arizona, USA
  • žNatasha Pavlovikj (PhD candidate) - University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
  • ACM President Alex Wolf

* Sponsored by Micron Technology. SIGHPC wishes to acknowledge the $2000 donation from Micron Technology that allowed the support of additional travel scholarships.

2014 Recipients

(left to right)

  • SIGHPC Chair Cherri Pancake
  • Nam Pho (Master's student) - Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Damilola Shonaike (Undergraduate student) - University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Matthias Matthias (Master's student) - Ludwig Maximilians University, Germany
  • Bo (Ivy) Peng (PhD candidate) - KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden
  • Rebecca Tung (PhD candidate) - Curtin University in Perth, Australia
  • ACM CEO John White

2013 Recipients

  • Milind Chabbi (PhD candidate) - Rice University, USA
  • Stephanie Labasan (PhD candidate) - University of Oregon, USA
  • Brian McClure (Undergraduate student) - University of South Carolina Beaufort, USA