ACM Special Interest Group on High Performance Computing

The Latest Word...

Miss the annual meeting?

Check out the slides.

2018 SIGHPC/Intel Fellowship winners after the SIG annual meeting with SIGHPC chair Jeff Hollingsworth (far left) and ACM president and founding SIGHPC chair Cherri Pancake (far right). Read more about the 2018 winners.

Nominations Now Open for 2019 Outstanding Dissertation Award

SIGHPC's Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award is given each year for the best doctoral dissertation completed in high performance computing (HPC). This award is open to students studying anywhere in the world who have completed a PhD dissertation with HPC as a central research theme. The winner is recognized with a $2,000 cash prize, a plaque, and travel support to SC.

Nominations are due February 28, 2019.

Read more

Inaugural Dissertation Award Winner

SIGHPC has announced the inaugural winner of its Outstanding Dissertation Award. Dhairya Malhotra, for his dissertation "Fast Integral Equation Solver for Variable Coefficient Elliptic PDEs in Complex Geometries." Malhotra is recognized for his contributions in algorithm design, analysis, implementation, and performance optimization for N-body problems, in particular the fast multipole method (FMM), and its application to simulation of complex fluids. Malhotra graduated from UT Austin.

The committee also recognized the accomplishments of Honorable Mention Bilge Acun for her dissertation, “Mitigating Variability in HPC Systems and Application for Performance and Power Efficiency." Acun, who graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champain, now works at IBM's TJ Watson Research Center.

Read more

Congratulations 2018 Computing4Change Winners!

We are excited to announce the winners of the inaugural Computing4Change competition. Co-located with the SC18 conference in Dallas, TX, Computing4Change introduced students to the potential of computing to create positive change in our society. Students worked in teams, applying data analysis and computational thinking to a social challenge while experiencing the latest tools and techniques from computing and data science. Read about out the winners, and check out the full details on 2018 competitors.

Upcoming Events

SIGHPC is a proud sponsor of these upcoming conferences:

  • PPoPP 2019
    • Annual Symposium on Principles and Practice of Parallel Programming
    • Washington D.C., United States
    • February 16 - 20, 2019
  • IPDPS 2019
    • IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium
    • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    • May 20 - 24, 2019
  • PASC19
    • Platform for Advanced Scientific Computing
    • Zurich, Switzerland
    • June 12 - 14, 2019
  • SC19
    • International Conference on High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis
    • Denver, Colorado
    • November 17 - 22, 2019

Look for publications from recent conferences proudly held in cooperation with or sponsored by SIGHPC:

  • SC18
    • International Conference on High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis
    • Dallas, Texas
    • November 11 - 16, 2018
  • PASC18
    • Platform for Advanced Scientific Computing
    • Basel, Switzerland
    • July 2 - 4, 2018
  • IPDPS 2018
    • IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    • May 21 - 25, 2018