Voting Open for 2022 SIGHPC Election

SIGHPC members are encouraged to participate in this election.

On 4 April, members of SIGHPC (who were in good standing as of 15 March 2022) were sent voting information via an email message or post mail from Election Services Corporation (ESC), the third party company that is responsible for conducting the 2022 ACM SIG Elections. Members should have received the email if ACM has their current email address on file. If ACM does not have an email address on file, members will receive the voting information via post mail. Members will also have the option of requesting a paper ballot.

Please note that votes must be submitted by 16:00 UTC, 20 May 2022 [12noon EST].

Please vote! It is important that the voice of ALL members be heard.

ACM has approved the following slate of candidates for SIGHPC Officer positions. You can read each of their bios and statements at the ACM voting site.


  • Christine Harvey, MITRE (unopposed)

Vice Chair

  • Verónica G. Vergara Larrea, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

  • Michela Taufer, The University of Tennessee


  • Stephen Harrell, Texas Advanced Computing Center

  • Christine Cuicchi, DOD High Performance Computing Modernization Program, Navy DSRC

Member at Large (2 positions)

  • Melyssa Fratkin, Texas Advanced Computing Center

  • Antonio Peña, Barcelona Supercomputing Center

  • Bernd Mohr, Jülich Supercomputing Centre

  • Torsten Hoefler, ETH Zurich

Officers serve three year terms, and the winners of this election will serve from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025. ACM conducts elections on behalf of all SIGs, and voting members will receive information about their ballots and the voting process in early April along with candidate statements.

According to the SIGHPC Bylaws, a petition from 1% of the voting members of SIGHPC will place other consenting candidates who are members of SIGHPC and ACM on the ballot. SIG members who wish to petition must inform ACM Headquarters, the SIG Viability Advisor, and the Secretary of the SIG of their intention by 15th March. Petitions must be submitted to ACM Headquarters for verification by 1st April.

Questions? Feel free to email them to John West at

SIGHPC announces 2021 winner of Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award

Dr. Didem Unat is the 2021 ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing award winner. Dr. Unat is an assistant professor in the department of Computer Engineering at Koç University in Istanbul, Turkey. She is recognized for her innovative work in the field of programming models for data locality in High Performance and Scientific Computing, as well as her leadership role in the international HPC community.

Read about this year's winner ...

Read about the award ...

2021 SIGHPC Fellows Announced

ACM’s Special Interest Group on High Performance Computing (SIGHPC) has announced the eleven recipients of the ACM SIGHPC Computational and Data Science Fellowships for 2021. Funded by SIGHPC, the fellowships are highly competitive, and are awarded after a rigorous merit review.

The program is intended to increase the diversity of students pursuing graduate degrees in data science and computational science, including women, as well as students from backgrounds that have been historically underrepresented in the computing field. The fellowship provides $15,000 annually for study anywhere in the world

Nominees spanned disciplines from mathematics and astrophysics to chemical engineering and agriculture, and represented large, mid-sized, and small institutions in countries around the world. More than 81% of nominees identified as female, and 84% identified as an underrepresented minority in their country of study. Read More...

Rohit Zambre Selected as 2021 Winner of SIGHPC's Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award; Dr. AJ Lauer and Dr. Yang You are Selected for Honorable Mention

ACM's Special Interest Group on High Performance Computing (SIGHPC) is pleased to announce that Dr. Rohit Zambre of the University of California, Irvine has won the 2021 SIGHPC Doctoral Dissertation Award. This award is given each year for the best doctoral dissertation completed in high performance computing (HPC) in the previous year, and includes a $2,000 cash prize, a plaque, and recognition at the International Supercomputing Conference (SC’XY) in November. In addition, SIGHPC selected two submissions from Dr. AJ Lauer and Dr. Yang You for Honorable Mention in the 2021 Dissertation Award.

Read More

2021 Winner Rohit Zambre

2021 Virtual Member's Meeting

The 2021 Annual Virtual Member Meeting took place on November 6, 2021. To view the presentation, please visit our Meeting Membership page.