Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award

2023 Award Winner

Dr. Amanda Randles is the 2023 ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing award winner. Dr. Randles is the Alfred Winborne and Victoria Stover Mordecai Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences at Duke University and holds positions with the departments of Biomedical Engineering, Engineering and Materials Science, and Computer Science. She is also member of the Duke Cancer Institute. She is recognized for her innovative work in developing new approaches to circulatory blood flow simulation at all scales of computing, as well as her dedicated mentorship and community service. 

Read more about Prof. Amanda Randles, the 2023 SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing Award Winner.

Award Information

The ACM SIGHPC Emerging Woman Leader in Technical Computing (EWL/TC) is an annual award open to any woman who has engaged in HPC and technical computing research, education, and/or practiced for 5-15 years since receiving her highest degree. This international award creates a career milestone achievement, and also establishes a cohort of role models for students and professional who are just getting started in our field. Nominees who have taken time out of the workforce and who, as a result, are professionally "mid-career" but are beyond 15 years since achieving their highest degree may still be nominated. Refer to nomination instructions for more details.

In the fields of high performance (HPC) and technical computing – as elsewhere in computing – there are fellowships and awards for achievements occurring at the graduate student, early-career, and mature-career stages. But there are very few awards recognizing individuals in the middle stage of their careers. These are the years when faculty are working toward promotion and practitioners are moving through middle levels of management, a period which can be especially challenging. 

"Technical computing" includes all of the various fields that are part of what we think of as HPC – areas such as visualization, analytics, operations, scientific application software (creation and porting/tuning), libraries, and so on – as well as professionals working with everything from small, workgroup-sized systems, to leading systems on the TOP500 list.

Starting in 2022, this award is presented annually during the annual SC conference. The awardee is recognized with a $2,000 cash prize, a plaque, and travel support to SC.

See how to nominate for more information.

2023 Award Winner Dr. Amanda Randles