HPC Community Awards

HPC Awards and Prizes

HPC is a highly innovative profession, and members of our community successfully compete for many different types of awards and recognition. SIGHPC wants to help raise the profile of HPC, and support the development of our members, by encouraging the nomination of highly qualified applicants for special recognition in the HPC and computing communities.

ACM Gordon Bell Prize

The ACM Gordon Bell Prize is awarded at the SC conference each year, in recognition of outstanding achievement in high performance computing. Administered by the ACM, the $10,000 prize is intended to track the progress of parallel computing, with particular emphasis on rewarding innovation in applying HPC to applications in science. 

ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award

ACM and IEEE-CS co-sponsor the Kennedy Award, which was established in 2009 to recognize substantial contributions to programmability and productivity in computing and significant community service or mentoring contributions. It was named for the late Ken Kennedy, founder of Rice University’s computer science program and a world expert on high performance computing.

IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Award

The Seymour Cray Award is one of the IEEE Computer Society's highest awards, and is presented in recognition of innovative contributions to high-performance computing systems that best exemplify Cray’s creative spirit. 

IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award

Established in 1992 in memory of high-performance computing pioneer Sidney Fernbach, the Fernbach Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the application of high-performance computers using innovative approaches. 

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing

Awarded for significant and sustained contributions to the scalable computing community, coupled with an outstanding record of high quality and high impact research

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing (Middle Career Researcher)

Recognizes up to 2 individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and on-going yet towards long-lasting contributions in the field of scalable computing within 5 to 10 years of receiving their PhD degree

IEEE TCSC Award for Young Achievers in Scalable Computing

Recognizes up to 3 individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions in the field of scalable computing within 5 years of receiving their PhD degree

SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science and Engineering

Recognizes outstanding contributions to the development and use of mathematical and computational tools and methods for the solution of science and engineering problems

Suggest other awards to add to this page

Fellowship Opportunities

As part of its efforts to encourage more young people to pursue careers in HPC, SIGHPC is proud to be associated with the George M. Michaels HPC Fellowship program. These fellowships, awarded annually at the SC conference, are open to individuals enrolled in PhD programs at any accredited institution, in any country.

ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship

Endowed in memory of George Michael, one of the founding fathers of the SC Conference series, the ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial Fellowships honor exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus areas are in high performance computing, networking, storage, and large-scale data analysis. ACM, the IEEE Computer Society, and the SC Conference support this award.

Suggest other fellowships to add to this page

Advanced Membership Grades in Societies Related to HPC

Certain types of recognition, such as the designation of "Fellow" status in the professional societies, are milestone achievements that only a select number of highly successful professionals will reach during their career. The process of applying for these can be difficult, and because the awards are so competitive it is important that these packages be completed correctly and with specific information in order to provide a maximum opportunity for success. SIGHPC is proud to include many highly accomplished members who have achieved Fellow status in a variety of professional societies. If you are considering a nomination to one of these elite awards, we may be able to provide some initial guidance for planning and submitting the nomination package. Send us an email at awards@SIGHPC.org.

ACM Senior Member

The highest ACM membership grade for which members can apply directly. Candidates must have at least 10 years of professional experience with demonstrated performance that sets candidates apart from their peers through technical leadership, and technical or professional contributions

IEEE Senior Member

The highest IEEE membership grade for which members can apply directly. Candidates must be engineers, scientists, educators, technical executives, or originators in IEEE-designated fields; have experience reflecting professional maturity; have been in professional practice for at least 10 years; show significant performance over a period of at least five of those years

ACM Distinguished Member

Nominees must be members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field.

ACM Fellow

Recognizes the top 1% of ACM members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community.

IEEE Fellow

Reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in an IEEE field of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation.

SIAM Fellow

Designates certain members of SIAM who have made outstanding contributions to fields served by the Society.

Suggest other membership grades to add to this page