Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

The process for the 2018 award cycle is now completed, and the 2019 award cycle has begun. Read more about Dr. Dhairya Malhotra, the 2018 SIGHPC Outstanding Dissertation Award Winner.

SIGHPC's Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award is given each year for the best doctoral dissertation completed in high performance computing (HPC). This award is open to students studying anywhere in the world who have completed a PhD dissertation with HPC as a central research theme.

  • Nominations open: Now
  • Nominations close: February 28, 2019
  • Winners announced: June of award year

To qualify for the Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, the dissertation must:

  • Have been successfully defended (or accepted by the committee if no defense is required) during the twelve months preceding the close of nominations.
  • Be submitted in the final form that was accepted by the department.
  • Be submitted in English.

The award is presented annually during the annual SC conference. The awardee is recognized with a $2,000 cash prize, a plaque, and travel support to SC.

See how to nominate for more information on nominations, or check out the FAQ for answers to common questions.

2018 Winner Dhairya Malhotra