ACM SIGHPC/Intel Computational and Data Science Fellowships

2016 Fellowship Winners

Winners of the ACM SIGHPC Intel Fellowship: (left-to-right, from top) Courtney Armour, Michael Barrows, Monica Chelliah, Dera Dimah, Cylita Guy, Samnigueka Halsey, Deborah Hanus, Jaye Harada, Irish Medina, Heather Peacock, Tahiry Rajaonarison, Meena Subramaniam, Victoria Tolls, Anna Wright. 

As the inaugural Fellowship class, the 2016-2017 cohort of fellowship winners is a very exciting group for us. The quality and range of disciplines and life experiences represented in this group of outstanding students is truly astonishing. 

Students were nominated by their graduate advisors, and nominees spanned 21 disciplines and represented large, mid-sized, and small institutions in 23 countries. 80% of nominees were female, and 20% were identified as an underrepresented racial or ethnic minority in their country of study. The nominations were evaluated and ranked by a panel of 18 experts (who were themselves diverse with respect to race, gender, discipline, and nationality) based on nominees’ overall potential for excellence in data science and/or computational science, and the extent to which they will help to increase diversity in the workplace.

Of the 14 students named as winners this year, twelve are women and four are underrepresented minorities in their country of study. They are pursuing MS and PhD degrees not just in computer science, but also in a variety of applied fields:

Funding will be awarded in August. The winners will receive travel support to the SC16 conference in Salt Lake City, Utah (USA), where they will be recognized at an awards ceremony. They will also receive a complimentary membership in SIGHPC for the duration of their fellowship.